How Many Districts Are in Rome?

By Robert Palmer

Rome, the capital city of Italy, is divided into several administrative districts known as municipi. These municipi are further divided into smaller subdivisions called rioni or quartieri. Let’s take a closer look at the district structure of Rome.

Municipi in Rome

Rome is currently divided into 15 municipi, each with its own local administration and government. These municipi play a crucial role in managing various aspects of the city, including urban planning, public services, and cultural preservation.

Here is a list of the 15 municipi in Rome:

  • Municipio I – Centro Storico: This municipality covers the historic center of Rome and includes famous landmarks such as the Colosseum, Roman Forum, and Pantheon.
  • Municipio II – Parioli/Nomentano: Located to the north of Centro Storico, this municipality encompasses upscale residential areas and parks.
  • Municipio III – Monte Sacro: Situated in the northeastern part of Rome, Monte Sacro is known for its residential neighborhoods and green spaces.
  • Municipio IV – Tiburtino: This municipality is characterized by its mix of residential areas and industrial zones.
  • Municipio V – Prenestino/Centocelle: Centocelle is a vibrant neighborhood within this municipality that offers a glimpse into everyday Roman life.
  • Municipio VI – Roma Delle Torri: As the name suggests, this municipality features several high-rise buildings and modern infrastructures.
  • Municipio VII – Appio-Latino: Known for its archaeological sites and the Appian Way, this municipality is rich in history.
  • Municipio VIII – Appia Antica: This municipality encompasses the Appian Way Regional Park and is known for its ancient Roman ruins.
  • Municipio IX – Eur: The EUR district stands out with its modern architecture and business centers.
  • Municipio X – Ostia/Acilia: Situated near the coast, this municipality includes the popular seaside neighborhood of Ostia.
  • Municipio XI – Arvalia/Portuense: This district combines residential areas with industrial zones and commercial activities.
  • Municipio XII – Monte Verde: Located on the Gianicolo Hill, this municipality offers stunning views of Rome.
  • Municipio XIII – Aurelia: The Aurelia district is primarily residential and features green spaces and parks.
  • Municipio XIV – Trionfale: This municipality includes the Vatican City and surrounding areas.
  • Municipio XV – Cassia/Flaminia: Known for its scenic landscapes, this district extends to the outskirts of Rome.

Rioni in Rome

In addition to the municipi, Rome is further divided into smaller subdivisions known as rioni or quartieri. These divisions are based on historical boundaries and are primarily used for administrative purposes. There are a total of 22 rioni in Rome.

Some well-known rioni include:

  • Rione I Monti: Located near Centro Storico, this rione is renowned for its narrow streets, charming piazzas, and vibrant nightlife.
  • Rione II Trevi: Home to the iconic Trevi Fountain, this rione attracts tourists from around the world.
  • Rione III Colonna: This rione is named after the Column of Marcus Aurelius and is known for its elegant shopping streets.
  • Rione IV Campo Marzio: Situated in the heart of Rome, this rione is famous for its historic buildings and landmarks.
  • Rione V Ponte: This rione spans across Tiber River and is home to notable sites like Castel Sant’Angelo.

The rioni provide a more detailed geographical breakdown of Rome’s neighborhoods, allowing locals and visitors to navigate the city effectively.


Rome’s district structure, comprising municipi and rioni, plays a vital role in managing the city’s diverse neighborhoods and ensuring effective governance. Understanding these divisions can greatly enhance one’s exploration of Rome, providing insights into the city’s history, culture, and urban development.