How Many States Does Rome Have?

By Anna Duncan

Rome, the capital city of Italy, is a fascinating destination that boasts a rich history and cultural heritage. One question that often arises when discussing Rome is: how many states does Rome have? Let’s delve into this topic and explore the administrative divisions within the city.

Rome’s Administrative Divisions

Rome is divided into several administrative divisions known as municipi. These municipi are further organized into smaller subdivisions called quartieri.

Currently, Rome has a total of 15 municipi and 156 quartieri. Each municipio is governed by an elected council and mayor, who oversee various aspects of local governance.

Municipi in Rome

The 15 municipi in Rome are as follows:

  • Municipio I – Centro Storico: This municipio encompasses the historic center of Rome and includes iconic landmarks such as the Colosseum, Roman Forum, and Pantheon.
  • Municipio II – Parioli/Nomentano: Located to the north of the city center, this municipio is known for its elegant residential neighborhoods.
  • Municipio III – Monte Sacro: Situated in northeastern Rome, this area is primarily residential and offers a quieter atmosphere.
  • Municipio IV – Tiburtino: Tiburtino is characterized by its diverse population and vibrant cultural scene.
  • Municipio V – Prenestino/Centocelle: This municipio is known for its archaeological sites such as Villa Gordiani.
  • Municipio VI – Roma Delle Torri: Located on the outskirts of Rome, this area features modern skyscrapers and residential complexes.
  • Municipio VII – Appio-Latino/Tuscolano: Appio-Latino/Tuscolano is home to the famous Appian Way and Caffarella Park.
  • Municipio VIII – Appia Antica: This municipio is renowned for its ancient Roman ruins and the lush Appian Way Regional Park.
  • Municipio IX – Eur: Eur is a modern business district with impressive architecture, parks, and recreational spaces.
  • Municipio X – Ostia/Acilia: Located near the coast, this municipio includes the popular beach resort town of Ostia and its archaeological site.
  • Municipio XI – Arvalia/Portuense: This area is known for its industrial zones, port activities, and proximity to Fiumicino Airport.
  • Municipio XII – Monte Verde: Monte Verde offers a mix of residential areas and green spaces, including Villa Pamphili, one of Rome’s largest parks.
  • Municipio XIII – Aurelio: Aurelio is a predominantly residential area that is home to Vatican City.
  • Municipio XIV – Trionfale: Trionfale includes Vatican City as well as the bustling shopping street of Via Cola di Rienzo.
  • Municipio XV – Cassia/Flaminia: Situated in northern Rome, Cassia/Flaminia offers a mix of residential neighborhoods and natural landscapes.

The Importance of Administrative Divisions

The administrative divisions within Rome play a crucial role in managing the city’s affairs effectively. They help in decentralizing power by distributing responsibilities among municipi. This structure allows for better local governance and ensures that the diverse needs of different areas are adequately addressed.

Moreover, these administrative divisions aid in organizing various services, such as public transportation, waste management, and urban planning. They facilitate the allocation of resources and enable efficient decision-making processes.


Rome, one of the most enchanting cities in the world, is divided into 15 municipi and 156 quartieri. These administrative divisions help in managing the city’s diverse neighborhoods and ensuring effective local governance. Understanding Rome’s states is essential for both residents and visitors alike to navigate the city with ease.